Labyrinth – Stations of the Cross

18 Mar

On Sunday I set up a labyrinth based around the Stations of the Cross. This is the third time I have been involved in doing Labyrinth stuff and I have never failed to be amazed by the poignancy, depth of work of the Spirit and the emotions felt by the journeyers through the Labyrinth.
My thoughts this time however are about how this engages people of all ages, in a variety of different stages of their relationship with God and of different personality types. Although it of course wont engage with all and doesn’t draw together as corporate worship it does however in a way that I am yet to find thought anything else the chance for people to journey and meet with God right where they are at. It doesn’t hit the uncomfortable middle ground of trying to please everyone and then engaging with no one or perhaps not on an appropriate level. Although I said earlier that it doesn’t provide that corporate sense of family that so many are struggling to do with from within youth work roles in the a vocation a move within the Church which actually is becoming worryingly isolationist in some places, there is something powerful about knowing that others are journeying through the Labyrinth at the same time as you and that people have gone before and will come after. We also had a gathering space where people could hang out before and after completing the Labyrinth.
I guess my concluding thoughts are that this works amazingly well in my current context and I will definitely being running more in the future.

4 Responses to “Labyrinth – Stations of the Cross”

  1. Courtney March 19, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    so i was wondering if i could get some more details about this from you? would you be interested in discussing via email? my husband and i are wanting to do this Friday but are having a hard time with the creative aspect. thanks. courtney

  2. Sarah March 16, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    I am trying to create a labyrinth for good friday and wondered if you could share some of your station ideas that you have used int he past
    thank you
    sarah

  3. weirdhippy March 17, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Hi Sarah if you send me you email I can send you the details for the author of the booklet that I used to base ours around. Otherwise these are the titles that we used

    1) Handwashing
    2) The Last Supper
    3) The Garden
    4) The Cross
    5) Who is Jesus
    6) Who am I?
    7) The Resurrection
    8) Come follow me
    9) Return to the world

  4. weirdhippy March 19, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    hi all happy to speak more about any of this email me at lnpearson@yahoo.co.uk

Leave a Reply

