Un-finished books

18 Mar

My current reading habits are less than routine. I am reading Rumspringa which I will be chatting through and reflecting upon with Amanda and Roy in a few weeks. I’m enjoying it although I have ground to a bit of a halt to be honest. It’s a brilliant look at the Amish community and how they deal with as a community issues around adolescence and freedom. Rumspringa means running around and is the time when a Amish young person has the freedom to engage more fully with ‘normal society’. I will post more fully in due course.


The reason I have really ground to a halt with Rumspringa is due to Tom Wright’s book Surprised by Hope which many have already blogged about. This I agree with Andrew Jones could be the book of the year and there is also a good review from Christine Sine here. Again I am not yet finished but Bishop Wright’s challenging but as always accessible work will bring the forefront many issues around bodily resurrection. It will also hopefully provide tool and a forum for many to think through their ‘orthodox’ views (although Tom Wright would challenge whether these are orthodox) around heaven, hell and what that means. Again without finishing the book this isn’t meant to be a review but instead a call to you to read this book and engage with and be challenged by it and also so that I can highlight some of my favorite bits so far:
I loved this quote below because it eloquently puts so much of what my thinking has been over the couple of years.
“I have become convinced that most people, including most practicing Christians, are muddled and misguided on this topic, and that this muddle produces quite serious mistakes in our thinking, our praying, our liturgies, our practice, and perhaps particularly our mission to the world.” (p6)

Wright then quotes this Rudyard Kipling poem, here is a small part which I love:
“When Earth’s last picture is painted and the tubes are twisted and dried,
When the oldest colours have faded, and the youngest critic has died,
We shall rest, and, faith, we shall need it – lie down for an aeon or two,
Til the Master of All Good Workmen shall put us to work anew.”

Leave a Reply

