Spring Harvest 3

15 Apr

9th April 2008 – Spring Harvest
Needed a bit of time this morning to do a bit of prep for Sunday so have popped out for a coffee for a bit. It’s a bit of a funny time between series’ with the Easter holidays now into full swing. I’m going to do some stuff around Church which I think may well end up turning into a full length series.
Well it’s our last full day here, and I thought I’d post a few reflections:
1) Despite my cynicism at times and about various things, SH/other Christian conferences I think do still have a place. They must however be a place which sends people back being healed, inspired and equipped for mission (in a broad sense).
2) The level of teaching this year at SH has been the highest that I can remember. Approaching the subject of hope and challenging people around their eschatology I know has been hard for some but actually it’s an important journey. Some of the stuff that Tom Wright and others have so importantly said seems to have given the ‘popular’ Christian speakers the weight and confidence to express perhaps things that they have previously thought and not dared to say. This I hope will continue to give rise to a conversational Church who doesn’t shy away from the hard questions but will engage with them whilst not  tearing itself apart in the process.
3) The Christian merchandising machine is nuts.
4) Hero worship within Christianity is as rife as within the rest of society.
5) The workshop I went to on self harm was excellent.
6) The Christian world is so small and it’s impossible to hide and remain anonymous at this place.
7) God is good an full of grace for us bunch of bums and hypocrites and still he remarkable chooses to work in and through us.

4 Responses to “Spring Harvest 3”

  1. George April 15, 2008 at 4:39 pm #

    Who did you see being hero-worshipped at SH this year then? ;o)

  2. weirdhippy April 16, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    Various people at times especially amongst young people and their bands/leaders but it wasn’t confined to youth stuff. And to be honest the balance between admiration and respect can easily cross the line to hero worship (I recognise that within me).

  3. George April 16, 2008 at 2:41 pm #

    I guess there’s always a need to provide credible role models in leaders but the way people respond to those leaders is only within their own control. I know myself I can’t help admiring some people for being real, but I hope I don’t hero worship them ;o)

  4. weirdhippy April 16, 2008 at 3:12 pm #

    I agree, thanks for your thought

Leave a Reply

