Grief

12 Jun

I am going to be leading a youth work session within a church context on the subject of grief. I’m trying to do some planning at the moment and have realised that it’s not something that I’ve ever heard spoken about in a group setting. Yes in one to ones, yes in counselling/mentoring after a loss but never in preparation for something that all of us will face at some point in our lives.

I am planning on using Rob Bell’s excellent Nooma ‘Matthew’ to start the session. I think i may well be picking up some of themes that I preached upon recently on bodily resurrection (at the end of time not Todd Bentley stuff).

2 Responses to “Grief”

  1. Sarah B June 12, 2008 at 5:21 pm #

    Is this prompted by a particular issue or just a general talk about it. I’ve run a session on grief for a younger group and an older group of teens when we had three tragic deaths of teens locally. There’s some useful stuff on the Child Bereavement Trust website:
    http://www.childbereavement.org.uk/for_young_people

    We allowed time for a lot of sharing and discussion and questions as well as some time for lighting candles and praying. It’s good to offer them something tangible to DO to mark it but they may well come up with the idea.

    If it’s not following a specific death, I’d use a clip of something from a film. I think the bit at the end of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is pretty good. I’ve not used that Nooma so I can’t comment as to whether it’s better than that or not. Then I’d give time for lots of questions and look at death in the bible possibly John 6.35-40, John 14.1-6, I Corinthians 15, Revelation 21.1-7 and a particular favourite of mine for this; 1 Thessalonians 4.13-end

    Not sure you actually asked for advice… but there you go!

  2. weirdhippy June 13, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    Thanks Sarah, i’m trying to tackle this subject proactively rather than reactively so no its not because of a particular event. I’m glad to hear that you’ve done some stuff on this in the past and that it’s not a subject that’s too much of a hot potato.

    I already had down to use 1 cor 15 and rev 21 so this comes as confirmation

    thanks

Leave a Reply

