My booky wook

6 May

Last week I read Russell Brand’s authobiography ‘My Booky Wook.’ There’s always been something for me very intriguing about this man, controversial, distasteful, funny, elequent are all words that I have seen and used myself to speak of him. Well I picked this book up in my favourite oxfam book shop and gobbled up the contents in a coupe of days. Hearing about his life and childhood can only fill even the most hard hearted with compassion. I think that’s what I love about biography, charting those life changing moments both good and bad that form us. The quote below resinates with me

I ain’t never really had much fun. I particularly dislike pre-ordained happy occasions. I don’t mind Christmas so much, because everyone’s involved, as long as they’re Christians or lazy atheists, or Muslim but into tinsel. But I’ve never had a good New Year’s Eve, and I don’t like birthdays, or any other time when you’re meant to be happy. I’m against the prescription of, say, ‘Ooh, it’s Chrsitmas o’clock. Smile everyone!’ For me happiness occurs arbitrarily: a moment of eye contact on a bus, where all at once you fall in love; or a frozen second in a park where it’s enough that there are trees in the world.

Leave a Reply

